All this firearms BS…

has kept me from blogging about the urban foxes. Even though I have to admit I am concerned about the little buggers. And this isn’t the first time I have mentioned the critters roaming London.

A fox mauled baby twins in Hackney back on Monday. This is an event that seems to be receiving far more press than Derrick Bird’s insane rampage in Cumbria. But it isn’t the first time a fox has allegedly mauled an infant.

On the whole, they are rather shy, but it doesn’t stop them from showing up in the most unexpected places, such as this one at Walthamstow Tube Station:
Fox
Or this one chasing Tony the Weasel at Number 10:

I’m keeping my opinions to myself about this video…

It’s amazing how many vids of London foxes there are on Youtube:

There were an estimated 10,000 foxes roaming London as of 2006 with some being able to access the Prime Minister as the above picture shows. Trust me, the little buggers are everywhere in the city. Urban fox levels are on the rise at the moment: there’s around 33,000 of them living in cities with a little under a third of them in London. That’s around 30 for every square mile in London. Googling “London Foxes” will net you as many webpages as foxes.

Again I mentioned seeing a fox wandering through a shopping mall at 17h00 (5PM) in what used to be the Duke of York’s barracks in Chelsea (I knew they should have never opened up the place to the public) and being told: “Oh, that’s nothing” while having a pint at my local, which is appropriately called the Fox and Hounds.

Radio 5 had a show where they asked if urban foxes should be culled. I have to admit an ambivalence about the critters since I am worried that Laci will get into a scrap with one. Although, the little beasts are fairly shy, but not shy enough to stay totally hidden. Fortunately, fox attacks are extremely rare, but any animal will fight if cornered: even a shy fox.

I think the real problem is that people need to realise these are wild animals even if they are in an urban environment. Some ninnies feed urban foxes (and wolves in the US) by leaving food out for them, which is a bad idea. Culling is a short term measure and other foxes would only replace the culled ones. Foxes are opportunists and if there’s an opportunity for more foxes to come and fill up the space, they will. Foxes also naturally gravitate towards where there is a food source and peoples rubbish provides just that. Additionally, foxes eat slugs and snails that most people do not want in their gardens.

I do have to admit I find the little buggers cute, but I wouldn’t treat them as if they were my pet.

Posted 10/06/2010 by lacithedog in Fox and Hounds, Foxes, urban foxes

