Well, I really am a slacker!

Somehow, I saw that a schoolfriend’s dad had died in today’s paper.   We were in the same house back in the day.

It was a bit weird seeing pictures of him and reading descriptions of him.  He is described these days as chain smoking and outspoken!  I remember that I was far more outspoken than he ever was back then.  He was rather laid back and likeable in those days.

But what really got me was the family’s net worth, which was in the astronomical figures.

No wonder I always felt poor growing up once I went away from the crowd of poor university dons’ kids  and went off to School.

On the other hand, I can see why the poor sod looks like shit these days as I read up on what he has been doing the past 34 odd years since I last saw him.

I’m sorry to hear about your dad, mate.  Please accept my condolences regarding your bereavement.

And even more condolences in how your life came out.  Money can’t buy happiness.

Posted 14/07/2010 by lacithedog in Slacker

