What the fuck is the “Breda Fallacy” anyway?

OK, my undergrad degree had a strong element of Philosophy and when I hear the word “fallacy” it makes me think of this:

In logic and rhetoric, a fallacy is a misconception resulting from incorrect reasoning in argumentation. By accident or design, fallacies may exploit emotional triggers in the listener or interlocutor (e.g. appeal to emotion), or take advantage of social relationships between people (e.g. argument from authority). Fallacious arguments are often structured using rhetorical patterns that obscure the logical argument, making fallacies more difficult to diagnose. Also, the components of the fallacy may be spread out over separate arguments.

And Breda is a place in the Netherlands. It could be the bint’s name as well.

Unfortunately, I can’t make a connection between the two things: Breda and Fallacy. I’ve contacted some Dutch friends from Breda who happen to deal with logic and rhetoric on a professional basis to see if they might shed some light on this. Until then, the title of this blog seems pretty esoteric to me.

Unless, of course, I want to go with “a fallacy is a misconception resulting from incorrect reasoning in argumentation”: meaning this is some bint’s fucked up thoughts.

You’d think that someone who is a reference librarian would be able to scoop out the facts.

And have her shit together enough so that people with backgrounds in logic wouldn’t assume that her blog is a fourth box of BS (although three seems a surfeit of BS to me). Unless that’s her intent. What if Breda is having a big arsed joke on her public knowing full well that “nobody ever went broke underestimating the intelligence of the American people”.

And the gun loon crowd are truly a bunch of cretins who can be sucked in by a pretty face giving them what they want to hear while she’s laughing all the way to the bank at their stupidity.

And people wonder why I think my dog is smarter than most people. She definitely seems smarter than a reference librarian from Ohio. Unless our librarian is having one big laugh at the Gunloons’ expense: then it’s mazel tov, sister!

(BTW, the word “Bint” comes from Arabic where it just means girl: it does have a derogatory meaning in British slang. She’s an islamophobe and I’m British with a knowledge of Arabic which means that my use of the word “bint” could take either meaning. For those who call me stupid: I am certainly using language well. Perhaps far better than this bint.)

