Another test about religion

The Man With the Muckrake got me going with his 93% A- post about the  Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life’s 32 question quiz about religious knowledge

I did 100% at the CNN version and 14/15 at the Pew test (15 “Which one of these preachers participated in the period of religious activity known as the First Great Awakening?” stumped me). “although the United States is one of the most religious developed countries in the world, most Americans scored 50 percent or less on a quiz measuring knowledge of the Bible, world religions and what the Constitution says about religion in public life.”

The surprise is that Agnostics and Atheists did the best on this survey. The people at Pew have a theory for this:  that these groups have thought more about religion than most people.  Another factor that influenced the results was education: the better educated the subject, the better their score.

It doesn’t surprise me that people are ignorant of other religions in the US. or that they are ignorant about Christianity. I blame the reformation and its creation of various sects. Pretty much any one can pick up the Bible and claim they have a religion: even if that ‘religion” is based upon misinterpretation.

If I were a Christian, I would have to be of the strong Catholic/Anglican Church crowd. As I keep saying­

Give me that old time religion…

And let’s burn a few heretics.

