More toys!

This time it’s internet radios.

One can receive loads of radio station over wireless internet, as opposed to the crappy reception I have normally.  My old Hi-Fi Stereo tuner has been relegated to the basement since it gives poor results.  I normally use small transistor radios since they have better selectivity and deal with the FM interference better than the Hi-Fi receiver does!

Not to mention it gives me more station selection.

The problem: they are expensive as heck.

Of course, there is the work around that I can use a computer as an “internet radio receiver”.   BBC’s iPlayer desktop proves useful for this, but I don’t want to be limited to the BBC.  On the other hand, I think this technology is still in its infancy when I look at things such as the Grace Digital Wireless Internet Radio or Logitech Squeezebox Radio.  Teh first question that comes to mind is will these go down in price?

Also, how much would I use one?

The real issue is that I would need more than one (at least three).

Also, I think of how my internet connection drops off, which is becoming less frequent, but still is annoying.

I would appreciate comments from the users of the devices (and manufacturers) about their experiences and the equipment out there.

 

Posted 09/01/2011 by lacithedog in BBC, BBC iplayer, BBC Online, Internet Radio

