Charlie and Laci Screenwipe the Tudors

I’ve been wanting to mention Charlie Brooker for a while. He reminds me of a school chum that I would share tea and solve the world’s problems. Of course, nothing ever came of it although I have made more of my self than my chum did. My chum has become a “journalist” for what that’s worth. He was a wit of the Charlie Brooker sort who could make me laugh at the world’s shortcomings. I am to much of a literalist to be a wit.

Charlie’s How TV Ruined Your Life is one of those turns of brilliance that reminds me of my friend. Especially when Charlie sat in a car and announced he couldn’t drive (and neither can my friend). Fortunately, Charlie is a lot more interesting than my journo friend has become. I wanted Charlie’s take on the Tudors from Episode 6 of How TV Ruined Your Life where he makes a lovely snide comment about the Tudors. Instead, this clip came up from his Screenwipe programme:

Ultimately, there is a vindication of a comment I made that frequent commenter here, Richard T, took me to task about–ELizabeth I’s (of England, since the Current Elizabeth is I of Scotland) childhood. In Episode 6 of the Tudors, she makes a comment about how her father’s treatment of women has made her adverse to marriage. I was hoping that Elizabeth would announce that she was going to become a Lezzer, but that might be hoping for way too much even for the Tudors.

How can I forget to mention that Catherine Parr (1512–1548) was four years older than Henry’s daughter Mary (1516-1558) which the the Tudors series messes about with to make Mary look as if she were a teenager. I’ll be the first to admit that the Tudors plays fast and loose with history. Of course, the reality was pretty wild:

Henry VIII died in 1547, when Elizabeth was 13 years old, and was succeeded by her half-brother, Edward VI. Catherine Parr, Henry’s last wife, soon married Thomas Seymour of Sudeley, Edward VI’s uncle and the brother of the Lord Protector, Edward Seymour, Duke of Somerset. The couple took Elizabeth into their household at Chelsea. There Elizabeth experienced an emotional crisis that some historians believe affected her for the rest of her life. Seymour, approaching age 40 but having charm and “a powerful sex appeal”, engaged in romps and horseplay with the 14-year-old Elizabeth. These included entering her bedroom in his nightgown, tickling her and slapping her on the buttocks. Catherine Parr, rather than confront her husband over his innappropriate activities, joined in. Twice she accompanied him in tickling Elizabeth, and once held her while he cut her black gown “into a thousand pieces.” However, after Catherine Parr discovered the pair in an embrace, she ended this state of affairs.

Maybe it wasn’t the just the divorce that messed up Elizabeth’s attitude toward men!

Anyway, How TV Ruined Your Life is a brilliant piece of work on how the box doesn’t live up to its potential to educate. Paranoic yanks should watch this episode.

Unfortunately, Youtube yanked it for copyright violations, but try this one

And while we’re at it, for those lying yanks that like to lie with video and audio tape:

Trust nothing that you see on TV or the internet!

Posted 14/03/2011 by lacithedog in Charlie Brooker, The Tudors

