It’s a braw bricht moonlicht nicht taenicht

Arthur Herman got me going when he said in his How the Scots Invented the Modern World: The True Story of How Western Europe’s Poorest Nation Created Our World & Everything in It that:

The symbol of Dewar’s {Scotch} was a Highland drum major in bearskin bonnet and kilt.

OK, that’s ONE thing he got wrong, Pipers and Highlanders wear Ostrich Feather Bonnets. On the return of the 42nd Foot to Britain in 1790 an official report commented that “Their bonnets are entirely disfigured. They are so covered with lofty feathers that they appear like grenadier caps of black bearskin.” So, I can forgive him and not do a Michael Bellesisles on him.

Anyway, his talk about Scottish stereotypes made me look up some Sir Harry Lauder. Yeah, Yeah, I used to listen to the old 78s at my grandparents.

Now, fix that error about bearskins, ya numpty!

