The Reluctant blogger

It’s a bit unusual that someone whose opinion of blog comments is that they remind him of walking his dog.  The dog checks out a “post” on the street and makes her contribution on the “post” (figure it out). I write when I want to.  And hardly consider myself a serious blogger.

What the hell is a blog anyway.  It’s supposedly short for “web log”, but what does that mean?  It sounds to me like the Fast Show’s Jesse’s Diet sketches where Jesse emerges sporadically from his shed to inform a waiting world about his diet, with the words, “This week I ‘ave mostly been eating…”

In reality, they are vanity presses for people to vent. All sorts of opinions and observations show up on blogs. Some are well based, while others can be so far out to be amazing. It’s good to know what opinions are well founded v. just off the wall.  For example, the insurrectionist theory of the Constitution, which is just plain bollocks.

Anyway, there are people out there who think that blogs should be like scholarly journals or in some other way professional, rather than just being random musings and other interesting bits.  Others, as well as myself, have pointed out that these are like the commonplace book–places where people keep their notes.  It’s a bit outrageous to expect professional standards from this sort of writing.

I blog for my own amusement and don’t care if people read this.

I do have to admit to wanting to post some of the inane comments I’ve received, but I refrain from that.  They are read for my own amusement.

