Uninstalling Ubuntu from Windows

This is a whole lot easier than it sounds–especially if you read the Ubuntu forums.

I never liked Oneiric Ocelot (v11.10) since it did away with a lot of the functions that Lucid Lynx (10.04) had. I spent an evening tweaking Oneiric Ocelot to make it like Lucid Lynx.

It wasn’t until the old Gnu Grub Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported with the Grub command prompt showing up that I decided Oneric Ocelot had to go.

It wasn’t until I hit wubi that I found out how easy it was to get the uninstall. When you see the “install inside windows” option, click that:

You will then be prompted to uninstall Ubuntu.  Then, you can reinstall Ubuntu.

Much easier than all the garbage and folderol mentioned on the Ubuntu forum, but they are looking at Ubuntu as the main installation.

That also explains why I have the Linux Boot options on my one machine, but that is another story!

Posted 29/11/2011 by lacithedog in Ubuntu, Wubi

