Reviews: Lost Christmas and The Bleak Old Shop of Stuff

I have to admit that Lost Christmas lived up to my expectations for it. I was expecting something along the lines of “It’s a Wonderful Life” since the write ups hinted that things which were “lost” would be set right.

An urban fairytale from the backstreets of Manchester.

On Christmas Eve, everyone is getting ready excitedly for the big day – everyone, that is, except Anthony, a strange, enigmatic being who wakes up in the street, not knowing where he is or what he’s there to do. Anthony has a remarkable ability: the power to find the lost.

But is Anthony’s ability real, or just an illusion? Who is he and why has he ended up in Manchester at Christmas, just as the snow begins to fall?

Somehow, I figured that things which went wrong would be fixed. But, I’m not going to give any spoilers. Also, Eddie Izzard is wonderful as Anthony. Everything about this is really super. Try to catch it!

Tom McRae’s cover of Paul McCartney’s Wonderful Christmas used in Lost Christmas was haunting and fit the mood of the film:

The Bleak Old Shop of Stuff was a bit of a let down. It has a fabulous cast: Stephen Fry and Robert Webb caught my attention (as did Johnny Vegas, Judy Parfitt, Pauline McGlynn…). Katherine Parkinson did have me guessing until I realised she was Pauline from Doc Martin (and was in the Great Outdoors).  Robert Webb seemed to be doing an Ardal O’Hanlon imitation (think Father Dougal McGuire here) in his role. OK, if you’re a fan, but pass if you have no idea about some of these people–this might be too arcane for some folk. While the play on a Dickensian Christmas had me interested, the actual concept was a bit silly. Nice for the Panto Season, but I will keep reminding people that I am totally spoiled by Stephen Fry’s panto Cinderella. Why can’t someone broadcast that?

Programming Gods, that last comment was a hint.

This clip will give you an idea of what the show was like:

