Do you really need a Television Licence?

Everyone will tell you that you need a valid TV Licence if you watch or record TV as it’s being broadcast. Watching while during broadcast includes the use of devices such as a computer, laptop, mobile phone or DVD/video recorder.

It isn’t really enough to say that you don’t watch as a programme is broadcast–there is actually a process for exemption from being licensed

http://www.tvlicensing.co.uk/check-if-you-need-one/topics/what-if-a-tv-licence-is-not-needed-top12/

The declaration process is found here:

https://www.tvlicensing.co.uk/nln/index.aspx

In my case,the BBC has told me that not only do I not need a licence–they won’t let you have a licence if one is outside the UK! This is because you are technically not supposed to be watching internal BBC material from outside the UK, but more on that in Part II of Wherever you are: you’re with the BBC.

On the other hand, if one hasn’t undergone the process of exemption and passed, then you are whinging. If you can prove you don’t need a licence, then you are exempt.  Although, you can’t honestly claim that if you are at home using a computer attached to the  Internet.

It really isn’t that hard.  I had an encounter or two with the evil Television Detector Van during my university days, and they left me alone when I told them I didn’t own a television. Of course, I dutifully bought a licence once my situation had changed (which I still have as a souvenir).

