More about Jean Tinguely’s Le rêve de Sofia Loren

For some reason, I am the top post about this work, which kinda bugs me since I was hoping to actually see a picture of the thing (not bad anyway since it’s stashed away somewhere in the Museum of Modern Art in Brussels)

Anyway, it’s also mentioned at Recherches en histoire de l’art contemporain in the post La métaphysique dans la sculpture de Jean Tinguely: Axes de recherche.   Of course, it’s just mentioned since I think very few people have seen the thing in the past 21 years. My comment that “you push a button and the thing started moving and making noise” is about as erudite as you will get about the work for above reason.

But what do you expect from an artist who made a self destruction sculpture (Homage to New York, which you can sort of see in videos)?

