Yes, there are English subtitles for un village français.

un village francais screen cap

Screen cap from S2E1: La loterie

I found it amusing that the first DVD I popped into my player had an anti-piracy warning since getting subtitles for this series is an “after market” affair. There are subtitles available on the internet. Not the best, but subtitles nonetheless.

And they are free.

Unfortunately, the DVDs don’t make it easy to use the subtitles since there is copy protection which makes it hard to use something like VLC media player to watch them (and load the subtitle track). Although, one can download the subtitle file from the internet, which makes me wonder why the people who sell the disks didn’t put them on in the first place. After all, there was an article in the New York Times that praised this series.

That means that you have to make the episodes viewable in a source that can load a separate subtitle track since the DVD is unplayable as is through VLC.  As I said, VLC media player allows you to load a subtitle by going to menu>video>subtitle track  or subtitle>add subtitle track and then selecting the appropriate subtitle file.

Don’t complain about piracy as a reason for losing sales if you are not catering to the marketplace. Especially if the customer has to go elsewhere for the subtitles!  Even worse if the best way to watch your series is using a copy that was ripped, or even downloaded (I bought mine and do not advocate using downloaded copies if “official” versions are available).

I found the subtitles I use here:  www.addic7ed.com/show/3685.  These subtitles are by R. Clarke of Whitby, Ontario, Canada.

As I said, these are OK.  They were free and you get what you pay for.   They were not that helpful during the picnic scene since they either weren’t present or were up for too short a time.  I could probably make do without subtitles, but I find having English subtitles are far more helpful than the French ones were.   The French ones were more annoying than helpful.

But given that I paid 58.49 for the set (US$83.33, £47.60), I’m not unhappy with the end result.  I am unhappy that  have to take up hard disk space to be able to watch something I have on DVD.

Addition: as I’ve been ripping my disks for VLC, I’ve noticed that some of the subtitles aren’t very complete, but it seems that the addic7ed site has the only “complete” set of subtitles for this series.  I can’t vouch for how good they all are as I have only seen one complete episode, but these are (1) available and (2) somewhat complete.  Perhaps, the subtitle files may be updated at addic7ed to fix the incomplete/inaccurate ones.  At this point, the addic7ed site is the best source I’ve found.

Another note: I was QCing S5E3 and noticed that the subtitles were off timing.  There was Another scene which was not on the official DVD that was subtitled before the action began.  I’m not sure how to edit these, but that might be what needs to be done.

Further observation:  Actually, the subtitles work very well if you watch this using VLC media player in Linux.  I’ve been watching the episodes where I had problems and there are no problems when one uses Linux.

Also, the subtitles end at Series 5 episode 7 at this time (29 May 14).  Maybe some of the corrections will be made by someone.  I’d like to figure out how to edit the subtitles.  I just downloaded Jubler and may work on fixing these.  I will post them at addicted if I do (a) fix or (b) create subtitles.

As of now (18 Aug 14), the complete series subtitles are available.  I haven’t QC’d them, but they are available in English for the full series.  Thank you, R. Clarke of Whitby, Ontario, Canada.

